Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
Episode 66: Mind Regains the Green
0:00
-8:50

Episode 66: Mind Regains the Green

Thoughts from beneath a canopy of oak
Transcript

No transcript...

I am in America, and inexplicably have no phone signal or data here despite paying for it, right after a couple of weeks in Italy.

Here at last are deep green thoughts beneath the Georgia trees, where it is hot and humid and the shade of early evening is welcome. Good conversation and wonderful birdsong fill the air. There is due to be a ‘Biblical storm’ tonight, so people are leaving the camp, but we are trusting in our new tent and the fact that in Britain’s south west, we’ve just had the wettest winter on record. So we don’t feel fazed. My belly is full of the quesadilla and refried beans I cooked on the little camping stove. I have hard seltzer beside me and my travelling friend in front of me. My beloved is 3600 miles away, and so I console myself with the real beauty that is present and the deep conviviality of the people around me.

May you feel it too.


This was first published here on Substack with full transcript, more photos and footnotes on 23rd April 2024.

0 Comments
Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
The complete audio version of my regular posts. Notes from the Way, words from the woods, waters from the springs. Plus upcoming audio and musical extras in 2024.