Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
Episode 16 - A low slanting ray
0:00
-14:44

Episode 16 - A low slanting ray

Antidotes to the Hubriscene part 4

The temperature dropped below freezing that night in the woods, and my usual late spring camping set up wasn’t enough. In the small hours, I donned every item of spare clothing I had, including my huge rain cape, and squeezed back into my sleeping bag, shivering. I finally got up just after dawn to the May-time sounds of birds, seemingly annoyed at my presence in the clearing. This was after a pre-dawn hour of a tawny owl (unironically and loudly) calling the koan, ‘Who, who?’ directly above my tent. Needless to say, I did not gain sudden enlightenment.


First published here with full transcript, notes and more images, February 27th 2023.

0 Comments
Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
The complete audio version of my regular posts. Notes from the Way, words from the woods, waters from the springs. Plus upcoming audio and musical extras in 2024.