Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
Episode 36 - Grasp the nettle
0:00
-19:10

Episode 36 - Grasp the nettle

On taking my own medicine

There is a saying in the Taoist Classics: ‘The Sage is sick of being sick of sickness.’

Well, I am no sage, but I have been sick. I am as well, physically, as I have ever been, but I have been experimenting with many aspects of life this year, sometimes mindfully, sometimes by accident, and both ways have taught me, and continue to teach me, a huge amount.

In a living culture, we would have elders to ask about how our discoveries could enrich our community, plus we could ask advice. Instead, I have my gut, good friends, siblings and books. But none of these make up for a lack of real elders, regular community practice, or contemplative time spent alone in nature.

Let me explain. I have gone without formal ‘practice’ for 10 days. No T’ai Chi, no chi kung, no Heart Work, no ‘meditation’, no hand crafts, no reading the Classics, or similar, no hermit time in a hut. In short, 3/4 of the things which keep me sane and well have been absent from my physical and psychic diet since I was last at T’ai Chi class, and more generally, for 3 months. This week I have been surrounded by loving family, eating nutritious food, and walking in beautiful places, such as the Ochil hills in Scotland. So, food, family, stunning landscapes and love are in abundance.

And yet…


First published here with full transcript, notes and more images, June 17th 2023.

0 Comments
Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
The complete audio version of my regular posts. Notes from the Way, words from the woods, waters from the springs. Plus upcoming audio and musical extras in 2024.