Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
Episode 45 - Well Red
0:00
-6:47

Episode 45 - Well Red

An ochre interlude

This afternoon was spent with my great friend Nick Hunt and his photogenic dog Otto. Years ago Nick stumbled upon a valley near Bath, the site of a now defunct ochre works which ran for hundreds of years. When he sent me the pictures of Otto’s red feet I could not believe the intensity of the colour, I had never seen anything like it. Within a week a parcel of uncanny weight arrived at my boat and on opening it I found the deepest red haematite powder, with mica sparkles. Imagine looking at a deep purple-red velvet cloth with tiny silver sequins spread across a woodland floor and you will get an idea of the sumptuousness of this pigment. That year, I went to collect a little for myself with Nick, and now we return when we meet to walk the public footpaths, visit the great trees, gather a little earth and to visit the wild bees whose hive is a gnarled oak.


First published here with full transcript, notes and more images, October 2nd 2023.

0 Comments
Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
The complete audio version of my regular posts. Notes from the Way, words from the woods, waters from the springs. Plus upcoming audio and musical extras in 2024.