Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
Episode 53 - Interlude
0:00
-3:58

Episode 53 - Interlude

Two poems

For the first time in a year there is no Substack post due on a Monday morning. I have been cooking venison in many different ways all weekend for a group of 15 while my friend teaches her ‘using the whole animal’ course. Around me as I type, people nibble jerky, carve gorge-hooks for fishing from leg bones and paint designs on buckskin using a surprisingly excellent paint made from ochres and vitreous humour, aka deer eyeball juice.

Before my first planned post on the new fortnightly rhythm, here is a poetry interlude. Included are two from 2018 that feel appropriate to my life right now, amongst skilful friends. I feel deep gratitude for the natural materials, animals, earths, trees and plants who have provided my livelihood this week. Earth skills are essential life skills.

0 Comments
Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
The complete audio version of my regular posts. Notes from the Way, words from the woods, waters from the springs. Plus upcoming audio and musical extras in 2024.