Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
Episode 74: What Is Your Mission?
0:00
-9:06

Episode 74: What Is Your Mission?

Antidotes the the Hubriscene, pt11

I-thou

This ‘you’ I am writing to, it’s really ‘thou’ or ‘ye’ or ‘thee’.

I tried ‘I’ and ‘my’ for this piece but that’s not it, and using ‘we’ would assume far too much. So, rather than affect an archaic pronoun that would get in the way of communication, I must address ‘you’, but not in an accusatory way. This ‘you’ includes the part of me to which I write when I also write to you.

English is a strange and speckled beast and when not quick to heel, turns to sniff old walls and piss on them. But it is my beast and I must walk with it. I won’t use a choke chain, and besides, it wouldn’t help. Disciplining English only makes it howl.

So, this week I have questions and a poem. The questions are mine and the great poem is by a friend and fellow ‘what is this I am doing today, is it writing / music / poetry / art?’ person David Benjamin Blower. I asked him if I could read you one of his poems, of the several that jumped out during his performance two weeks ago. His words reached into my glassware cupboard, pulled out a goblet and filled it with good wine, which I have been drinking all week.

He said yes.


This podcast was first published here on Substack on August 12th 2024 with full transcript, footnotes and links.

Discussion about this podcast

Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
The complete audio version of my regular posts. Notes from the Way, words from the woods, waters from the springs. Plus upcoming audio and musical extras in 2024.