Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
Episode 75 - Three boats on a Horizon
0:00
-5:54

Episode 75 - Three boats on a Horizon

Fragments from the end of summer

I am away somewhere there is no electricity. I come to town to look at this screen, drink coffee and send pictures to my mum.

Here are three fruits from my larder of letters, thoughts, poems. I send greetings from a day with SSE winds and an abundance of bats at dusk. The mackerel’s bellies are full of baby sprats, a first. The local swimmers report huge silver shoals of them around their legs. The grey seal rested all day yesterday and gazed at us with huge black eyes. I watched the rise and fall of its sighing bulk and found myself exhaling in time. Mammals relax in similar ways. This morning I returned to the flat rock near where it had lain and spent a good ten minutes on my side enjoying a vertical horizon.


This podcast was first published on Substack on 27th August 2024 with more images, links and a full transcript.


Uncivil Savant is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, become a free or paid subscriber.


If you cannot afford a paid subscription but would like to comment, or to come along to the online movement workshops, just answer an Uncivil Savant subscriber email and I will comp you 6 months for free.

If my writing has been useful to you or inspired you, or you’d like to say thanks for a particular piece, then you can buymeacoffee.com/carolineross. It’s a virtual tip jar for small one-off payments. I really appreciate it!

Discussion about this podcast

Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
The complete audio version of my regular posts. Notes from the Way, words from the woods, waters from the springs. Plus upcoming audio and musical extras in 2024.