Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
Episode 76 - Love is the Ache of a Bone Mending
0:00
-17:01

Episode 76 - Love is the Ache of a Bone Mending

And, you don't have to do your work alone

This week I am sat here at my desk with a hard stone in my belly. I could write what I would have written and not mention the chill in my guts, but apart from plainly being false, it would also not serve anyone. Perhaps I will always be a teacher at heart, like both my siblings and most of my cousins, aunts and uncles. To fight the explicatory urge to find lessons in almost everything would be as futile as pulling out my own thumbnail. I’d be useless for a while and it’d only grow back. And then I’d find it was a perfect metaphor for…

Uncivil Savant is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.


This post was published here on Substack on 10th September 2024 with links, footnotes and images.

Buy me a coffee

Discussion about this podcast

Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
The complete audio version of my regular posts. Notes from the Way, words from the woods, waters from the springs. Plus upcoming audio and musical extras in 2024.