Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
Episode 06 - The Now-Time of the Hand
0:00
-20:24

Episode 06 - The Now-Time of the Hand

Touch as eternity, transmission and medicine

This piece is a response to a recent essay by

and an opportunity to expand on a letter to my friend . I’ll raise the case for haptic richness over the tyranny of frictionless surfaces, show how our ancestors left us plenty of medicine in unlikely places, and suggest that there is no time, or at least no linear time, in the palm of your hand. For help from Blake, my mother’s sewing kit and a German biker, plus several contrasting photos featuring my hands, press play.


First published here with full transcript, notes and more images, December 12th 2022.

0 Comments
Uncivil Savant
Uncivil Savant Podcast
The complete audio version of my regular posts. Notes from the Way, words from the woods, waters from the springs. Plus upcoming audio and musical extras in 2024.